adyemtravels

Just another WordPress.com site

Distracted from trip planning – but for a good reason

with one comment

Since our last update, the ‘2 months to go’ until we set off on our trip has shrunk to just 10 days. I’d like to say we’ve done lots of planning and preparation since then, but something else rather important has cropped up …

On 3rd August, on a beautiful summer’s evening, Adrian took me for a walk next to the Thames. As the sun was setting over the river, he led me into a garden area, got down on one knee, pulled a gorgeous diamond ring out of his pocket, and asked me to be his missus. Well, how could I refuse?

My beautiful engagement ring

We watched the rest of the sunset on a terrace, drinking champagne – well, prosecco – and comparing whether Adrian was more nervous about asking me or about the phone call he’d made to my Dad a few weeks prior to ask for his daughter’s hand in marriage. [On balance, Adrian felt that asking my Dad was probably more nerve wracking. After all, this is a man who had already forbidden me to marry Prince William. You’re welcome, Kate.]

All in all the trip planning has taken something of a backseat: we have booked the flights plus our first few night’s accommodation in Beijing and will be organising the rest as we go. I actually like travelling this way, as it gives us a certain amount of flexibility.

Time to get some sleep – I need to be up early tomorrow to stand in line at the Chinese embassy in the hope that they grant us some visas. Fingers crossed!

Written by Emily

September 19, 2011 at 10:54 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awww – sorry cannot be more articulate…need sleep….

    kate

    September 20, 2011 at 6:40 am


Leave a Reply

